“Wilkins’ world-building is notable for its subtlety; she conjures an intriguing setting with political and religious complexity but avoids miring the reader in unnecessary detail.”

– Aurealis


Daughters of the Storm is the first passionate, magical book in the compelling fantasy series Blood and Gold, from award-winning author Kim Wilkins.

"DotS[Daughters of the Storm] offers up a palate of political intrigue that is almost on par with
GoT[Game of Thrones]… Just like in GoT, there is much contention for the throne..."
- 10/10 from Fantasy Faction

A vividly rendered world, with characters that just leap off the page... the writing is superb. Kate Forsyth

Wilkins's human characters are endearing and her mythic monsters spring into vibrant life. – Publishers Weekly


An action-packed, compelling historical fantasy from an award-winning author

The battle-scarred warrior princess Bluebell is rumoured to be unkillable. So when she learns of a sword wrought specifically to slay her by the fearsome raven king, Hakon, she sets out on a journey to find it before it finds her. The sword is rumoured to be in the possession of one of her four younger sisters. But which one? And how will she find them?

Her four sisters all have their own paths to tread, the gifted magician Ash is on a journey to find a dragon that could determine her destiny. The beautiful, unhappy Rose has left her undermagician Aunt and is speeding to the aid of her daughter, Rowan, who has been lost to her.

Ivy, sold into marriage for the sake of an alliance, is now set to become the ruling Duchess of Seacaster with the imminent death of her much older and sick husband, and sister Willow is raising her infant child as a potential trimartyr king and training to be a warrior for the fanatical religious order Maava.
From wild rocky coastline to granite-topped tors, from bustling harbours to echoing ghost towns, from halls of kings to ancient primal woodlands, this story follows five sisters upon whose actions kingdoms will rise and fall.

Watch the trailer!

The Sisters of the Fire cover has been revealed!

Sister of the Fire is the action-packed sequel to Daughters of the Storm

The Crown of Rowan is the gripping prequel to Daughters of the Storm

Download the FREE ebook now!

Want to know more about Daughters of the Storm?